Review: Someone Like Him by Ann Herrick

Someone Like Him by Ann Herrick


Title: Someone Like Him
Author: Ann Herrick
Publication date: March 3, 2016
Number of pages: 125
Series: none
Synopsis: City girl, country guy. Will opposites attract—or clash?
When New-York-City girl Emily visits her cousin Janelle in Oregon, Emily wonders how she’ll survive the wilderness. Janelle wonders if the wilderness will survive Emily’s visit—and if she can convince her cousin to help save part of an old-growth forest.
Meanwhile, Emily also wonders if a big-city girl can get along with a county guy—named Bret. Under forest canopies and by crystal-clear waters she struggles with her growing attraction to him. But they’re so different. Whoever thought she’d fall for someone like him?


I received a copy of this book from the author on a read to review basis in exchange for an honest review.


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
I really liked how lighthearted and sweet this book was. Seeing the events that went on through Emily’s point of view helped me connect with her and appreciate her growth as a character. She really changed, learning to appreciate the wilderness and the differences between her lifestyle and that of her cousin. I also liked seeing her growth from a New York city girl into an open-minded girl who broadened her knowledge and wasn’t so quick to dismiss things. Seeing her cousins development was also really interesting because she really got out of her shell. As a somewhat shy person myself, seeing this played out really struck with me as I struggle to let loose sometimes, which like Janelle can make it hard to talk to people.
I also really enjoyed seeing the development of a sweet romance between Emily and Bret, and Janelle and Seth. The romance was slowly built, allowing me to see all of the parts, the slow growth of a crush, and then the romance itself. Sadly, I can’t really say much because the book was so short. Still, I thought the romance was well written and would have liked to see more of each phase as well as each of the girls’ thoughts.
Like I said, my biggest complaint with this book had to be the length; I thought this book was extremely short and would have liked a longer book to see more of the development in Emily, her cousin, Bret, and Seth. Had the book been longer, I think the author could have made a five star book that showed Emily’s full development as well as the development of all the relationships in the story. Due to the length of the book, I felt the development of all of the characters, although well-written and sweet to read about was extremely rushed, leaving out details that truly demonstrated their growth. I honestly felt that I would have appreciated the development more if it had not been so sudden–one second I was reading about Emily being a city girl with no appreciation for the wilderness and the next, she really appreciated it. The story itself would probably have been a little smoother had it been longer as the author could have given more background on Emily and her cousin’s homelife.
The second problem I had with this was minor, but still really annoying. I can’t believe that Emily didn’t know what S’mores or bigfoot are. Sure, she’s from New York, but still… They sell S’more flavored cookies, s’mores, and other things in stores. Also, with the internet around, as well as documentaries, I find it hard to believe she’s never even heard of bigfoot. She may be from the city, but these things she supposedly didn’t know are extremely hard to believe. To me, this was an exaggeration of what a city girl placed in the wilderness is like.
Overall, I thought the romance in Someone Like Him was really cute and liked seeing the development, but I found the book extremely short and some things a little unbelievable.

Leave a Reply

