Review: The Witness by Nora Roberts

The Witness by Nora Roberts
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Let me start off by saying how happy I am to have picked up this book. Not only was it completely different from what I usually read, but it was just so refreshing and definitely what I needed. I really enjoyed a lot about this book–the characters, writing style, and shifts in point of view. If you have any suggestions, please, please, please let me know!

I really enjoyed how Roberts began creating every character slowly and kept adding to their personality, and to some extent, their appearance. Each character was unique and well-developed. The main character, Elizabeth, was especially well-written and I loved seeing her grow into her own person.

All of the events in the novel were deliberate and I enjoyed seeing how they tied up and connected with each other. Seeing how each event shaped the characters and led to their interactions with one another was wonderful as I felt I saw exactly how characters’ actions led to events that led to more action.

At the same time, I kind of wished that the book had moved a little faster in parts. It didn’t drag much, but I did feel that some of the descriptions were just too much.

On the other hand, I really liked how Roberts flawlessly incorporated shifting points of view into the novel. I feel that reading the book through multiple perspectives let me better see all of the characters’ development. Having those multiple points of view let me have a glimpse into different thought processes and see characters through each different narrator’s eyes.

Overall, I really enjoyed The Witness and would highly recommend it. Again, if you know of any novels like it, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

