SST 3 – Review: What You Left Behind by Jessica Verdi

What You Left Behindby Jessica Verdi
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

**I received a copy of this book on a read to review basis. Thanks to Nori from the Sunday street team and the publishers.**

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed reading this book. It was a completely different experience for me as I don’t think I’ve read a book with a single teen dad taking care of his baby. Usually, I’ve read books with moms left by their boyfriends and how they cope/struggle to care for the baby.

I think what I liked most about this book was just reading it from the perspective of the dad. I enjoyed reading all of Ryden’s struggles with the baby and how he coped. Seeing how he was affected by Meg’s death and how he struggled because he missed her and wished she could help him with the baby.

I also really liked the family aspect of the book. Seeing the relationship between Ryden and his mom was amazing. I liked how the mom was always there and supported/guided Ryden when he felt like a failure. While the mom could be funny at times, I liked how she was serious and helped put things in perspective for Ryden. At the same time, I liked how she was never rude or condescending about the fact he had a baby.

Overall, I really enjoyed What You Left Behind and would definitely read it again to reread all the funny moments and because I just really liked Ryden’s voice. I would highly recommend this to anyone because it deals with some serious issues–cancer, grieving, parenthood–that were well-written and made Ryden as a character easier to connect with. Lastly, if you know of any other books dealing with parenthood from the guy’s perspective, shoot them my way!!

Leave a Reply

