Review: Fire by Kristen Cashore

Fire by Kristin Cashore
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

I’m not really sure how to classify this book, so I guess I’ll call it a companion novel. I really liked the story as a whole and enjoyed meeting a new cast of characters and learning more about King Lek from Graceling! Yes, the story did shed more light on Lek, but the focus was on a completely new and different cast of characters which I grew to love.

With this book, Cashore invented a new world–in a matter of speaking–with people and animals known as monsters for their odd coloring. Also, the book didn’t take place in the land of the seven kingdoms, but in the Dells.

I really enjoyed seeing the world building and loved the fact that Cashore was able to create another world while tying it back to the world of Graceling. Again, I liked how the world building was gradual and how information wasn’t dumped all at once. Also, the character development was really there and I liked being able to see how each character played an important role in the story.

However,, I felt that some of the character development was not as extreme or well-defined as it was in Graceling. I’m not saying I didn’t enjoy it, but I would have liked to see more development.

Next, some of the plot twists in this book were not really all that shocking to me and I was kind of disappointed. I thought that some of the twits were obvious and overdramatized to make them more surprising. That said, they didn’t really annoy me much and I understood their placement in the story.

Lastly, I can’t get over the characters! Each and every character was well-written and had his/her own personality. I really enjoyed seeing how relationships between characters formed and developed as the story went on.

Overall, Fire was an amazing novel with a grea cast of characters that I loved reading about. Plus, there was a totally swoon-worthy guy in there, am I right? I’m right. However, I would have liked a little more fast pace and character development.

Leave a Reply

