Review: What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was really eager to finally get to this book as I’ve been wanting to read it for quite some time. I’m really glad I finally read it as Fitzpatrick’s sequel to My Life Next Door comes out in August and I’m caught up with her books. However, (please don’t kill me for this) I didn’t like What I Thought Was True as I did her first book. There wasn’t anything wrong with the book or anything, but I just had a hard time connecting with the characters and the story. I want to get what I didn’t like out of the way so I can gush on what I DID like.

First, I really had a hard time connecting with the story. Maybe I wasn’t in the right mood for it or something, but I felt that this book was slow-paced with not much going on. I would have liked a little more action or development in the beginning.

Second, I had a very hard time connecting with the characters. I felt that they were a little flat at the beginning and I would have liked to see more of their personalities. As the book progressed, I could connect a little more, but it was still hard and I was expecting more.


On the other hand, I absolutely love how Huntley Fitzpatrick included Gwenn’s family in the story. It’s always refreshing to read about families in YA lit and I love how I can count on Fitzpatrick to include them. Each character in the family did have his/her personality even if I couldn’t connect, and it was interesting to see how each character eventually grew. It was also interesting to see what life on an island is like. Seeing peoples attitudes toward each other was also interesting as the island was a summer getaway for the people on land.

I also liked seeing how Fitzpatrick included a character with an intellectual disability into her book. I’ve been craving a book with a character like this and seeing how she didn’t make him weird or awkward was just amazing. However, I have to say that I LOVE how she gave Gwen’s brother his own personality and didn’t just cookie cut him into the stereotypical image of someone with a learning disability.

Overall, What I Thought Was True was a good book with an interesting plot and characters, but I had trouble connecting with the characters. That said, I’m definitely reading any of the author’s other works–sequels or not.

Leave a Reply

