Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I honestly don’t know how to put my feelings for My Life Next Door into words. It was beautifully written with characters that flourished as the novel progressed. True, it was a cute contemporary novel, but it was so so much more. Yes, Jase is everyone’s ideal book boyfriend and everyone wants a George in their lives. Hell, everyone wants a Tim–even stoned as he is sometimes–in their lives.

Fitzpatrick created characters that I couldn’t help but fall in love with. First and foremost is Samantha-, the main character. Sure, she’s rich and pretty, but as she was never pretentious about it. Yes, she had a fear of being seen with the Garretts by her mom, but again, that wasn’t completely her fault. As the book progressed though, Samantha learned what a true friend is and she overcame some of her prejudice against the Garretts.

However, one of my favorite characters of the novel is George. The seventh of eight children, George is still young and naive which makes his role in the story so crucial. Sure, having all the Garretts in the story is important, but George is the epitome of innocence and he helps advance the story–and the characters and the lessons they learn–in a way I can’t imagine could be done differently. His innocence makes the serious moments in the novel more vivid as he can’t fully comprehend what is happening. His childish questions made me want to cry and laugh throughout the book. Although the book dealt with the issue of integrity, George made the tough situations more bearable. At the same time, having George in the novel never took away of the seriousness Fitzpatrick was conveying, instead, it enhanced the situation and made the lessons the characters learned more meaningful.

I really liked how every character in the book was an integral part and how each helped one of the main characters grow and develop. The symbolism between light–when talking about the Garretts–and dark–when talking about Samantha and her mom or other friends–was beautiful. It was especially interesting to see how both elements combined at times in Samantha’s thoughts and out.

Lastly, can I just say how much I want a Jase for myself. Shoutout: if you know where to find him, hook me up.

Overall, My life Next Door was a fantastic book with beautiful characters, amazing guys, and deep, meaningful messages. I can’t wait to read The Boy Most likely To–Tim and Alice’s story–and What I Thought Was True.

Leave a Reply

