Review: Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard

Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I finally did it! I finally read this book after saying I’d read it for years. Now, I can finally watch the TV show as I said I wouldn’t until I read the books. 🙂 However, I have to say, I didn’t like this book as much as I thought I would.

For one thing, it had a slow pace and quite a lot was very redundant. Okay, I understand that all four girls had to give their accounts of what happened and that was great, but I wish the book would have moved along faster. I honestly didn’t start feeling the suspense until about the 45% mark and even then it felt minimal. I think it’s just the type of person I am, but I wanted a little more action in the beginning. I’m not saying I wanted the book to be terribly fast-paced, but a little more flare would have been nice.

On the other hand, I really like how the book starts out with a prologue detailing previous events in the girls’ lives. It kind of had a Gossip Girl type feel in that I’m almost sure the prologue is told from the perspective of the person who’s emailing the girls–the narrator in Gossip Girl’s case. I also really liked how the book gave me an insight into how the upper classes live and how complicated their lives can be as they keep secrets and try to be perfect at the same time.

Overall, Pretty Little Liars fell a little short for me, but I’m curious to see what happens next.

2 thoughts on “Review: Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard”

  1. OMG. Jackie! I read this one a while ago, after watching the show for years, and I promised myself I’d read the rest of them. I still haven’t, but I am hoping to soon.

    I felt like this one wasn’t amazing, but it was still a pretty enjoyable read.

    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

