Review: Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

I always like a good paranormal or fantasy book, and Rebel Belle was just what I needed after a long week at school. Not only that, it was the perfect size for a first book and it definitely didn’t disappoint or fall short of what I was expecting.

Let me just start off by saying I need to read more books like this. It kind of had a Beautiful Creatures type feel and I really liked that. I like all the southern elements it had and that it was also a book of it’s own.

First, the main character was everything I could hope fore: smart, ambitious, and sassy. She was a complete perfectionist and had what appeared to be a perfect life. Unlike other main characters I’ve come across, Harper didn’t just sit there twiddling her thumbs when the supernatural struck. Sure, she was hoping a mentor would come and guide her, but when no one showed, she got into action and began researching and trying to find out as much as possible. The one thing I really liked about Harper was that she wasn’t too whiny. Again, she wasn’t perfect, but she whined at the right times.

All of this isn’t to say Harper was perfect by any means. I felt that she could be selfish and stuck up at times, but that’s probably due to her situation. She was also wishy-washy with her friends, but again, I blame her situation. Despite all of what happened, I saw so much growth in Harper, her friends, and David–the other main character over the course of the book.

Let me just talk about David for a second. He was awesome and just what I’d want in a guy. He was absolutely sassy, he didn’t care what people thought about him, but he was also sensitive and caring. He had issues of his own and was not perfect but he was if that makes any sense.

The book itself was amazing as it incorporated southern style, a little of the private school elite, Cotillion, and historical elements. Not only am I a sucker for paranormal/fantasy books, but I absolutely love books with historical elements.

I really liked how the historical background behind Rebel Belle were incorporated and explained. I’m glad that Hawkins chose knights, but didn’t go the whole Arthurs round way and chose a completely different route I wasn’t expecting.

Do you all have any other suggestions for books with the southern gothic thing going on?

Overall, I really liked Rebel Belle and can’t wait to read the sequel.

4 thoughts on “Review: Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins”

  1. I’m so glad that you liked this one, Jackie! It wasn’t for me (I’ve yet to find a paranormal that works for me), but I did really like David. He just brought so much balance to the plot and the rest of the characters.

    I hope you get to the second book soon. I’ve been seeing reviews from it, and it looks like people who liked this one are loving it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

