Review: Two-Faced by Nia Davenport

Title: Two-Faced

Author: Nia Davenport

Publication date: February 5, 2015

Series: Assassin at Court #1

Synopsis: Skyler is a teenager and a girl so she’s used to being underestimated, which is just fine with her. It makes her job that much easier. Her targets never see her coming. As Anthame’s most deadly assassin, her survival depends on her anonymity. To keep her identity hidden she hides beyond layer after layer of false masks. When Skyler is given the Crowned Prince of Anthame as her next target and instructed to make the kill as quiet as it is inconspicuous, she must travel to the royal city of Pleith and embed herself deep within the King’s inner court and the life of the Crowned Prince. At Court, Skyler quickly learns that all is not as it appears, and as she worms her way into the Prince’s graces he warms his way into her heart. Her unwanted feelings for the Prince threaten to expose her for who she really is and send her carefully constructed walls of deception crashing down around her.

Author links:
Website
Facebook


I received an eBook copy of this amazing book from Nia Davenport in exchange for an honest review. Thanks so much for the opportunity to read this book!


Two-Faced by Nia Davenport
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

From the moment I picked up Two-Faced i was hooked! I’m so happy that I read this book after Rebel Belle because I was really looking for a good fantasy after it. To say this book was good is an understatement! I read this book in about two hours and wish it had been longer.

I’m so used to reading fantasies that are 400 pages long, and reading one that was about half the size left me kind of disappointed. I just feel that if the book were a bit longer, we might have gotten more character development and seen more into Zander’s life. I really would have liked seeing some more flashbacks in Skyler’s life of her time before becoming an assassin. I also would have liked seeing more of Zander’s life with his family and seen a little more of the royal politics. We were always told that he talked with his mother and it wasn’t pleasant, but I’d have liked seeing, or at least herring about the conversations more. With a longer book, I think we could have seen that. I also would have liked to see more of Zander with his sister and his friend/guard Jacob. All of that aside, I really liked Two-Faced for the elements it had.

I really liked Skyler as a main character for her sass and overall, because she wasn’t whiny!! Skyler didn’t put up with shit, but she didn’t whine when shit hit the fan either. She also didn’t let things from her past get in the way of her current job which wasn’t either bad or good. At the same time, she wasn’t so closed off that Zander and Emily–her friend–couldn’t get to her.

I loved how Davenport included flashbacks of Skyler’s life before becoming an assassin as it allowed me to connect with her more and sympathize with her situation. It also helped me understand why she chose to be an assassin.

Lastly, I adored Kiera, Zander’s sister. She was absolutely cute and like Zander and Skyler, I wouldn’t be able to resist her. She was her own little person and was a little firecracker.

Overall, Two-Faced was a great fantasy and I can’t wait to read the next book!

One thought on “Review: Two-Faced by Nia Davenport”

Leave a Reply

