Review: How I Fall by Anne Elliot

How I Fall by Anne Eliot
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


I received a copy of the book on a read to review basis which in no way affected my oppinion.


I reviewed both How I Fall and How I Fly together for a blog tour a while back, but feel that both books deserve their own reviews.

I really liked this book because of all of the different elements it brought to the table. First of all, it showed what true friendship was and how a passion for art could unite two very different people. Second, it showed how a passion could act as an outlet for someone’s emotions and let them express what they can’t in words. Last, I liked how the book addressed people with disabilities and how they are treated.

How I Fall brought two very different people together in a non-cheesy sort of way. Ellen and Cam are as different as blue and yellow. Cam is a rich, football playing kid and Ellen is the “disabled girl.” Throughout the book, Elliot showed how their love of photography brought these two very different people together.

Along with that love of photography, Elliot showed how Ellen used it as an outlet. The shots Ellen took of people’s feet or of nature showed what Ellen longed for and couldn’t have. Furthermore, Elliot made me appreciate what Ellen was shooting. As a blind reader, I thought I would be bored by the descriptions thinking they would be superficial. However, I was so amazed by them and I absolutely loved them. I could actually visualize what was being photographed and for a second, I was able to see the world. Thank you Anne Elliot for giving me an opportunity to see the world for a second and thank you for writing about people with disabilities.

As I mentioned before, I like the new trend in YA literature to expose mental illness, but I wish more books were written about people with physical disabilities. While I don’t have CP and don’t understand what Ellen went through, I can appreciate how she felt demeaned and underestimated at times. Elliot captured how cruel teenagers and adults can be toward a subject they don’t understand. I can’t count how many times I’ve been told not to do things because I can’t see or been turned away for the same reason. Every time something like this happens, I feel like giving up, but like Ellen I put on a brave face and push forward. I try to prove to people that I have the same brain capacity as them and that I can do everything they can. I liked how true Elliot stayed to how people reacted and how true friends were supposed to act.

Overall, I thought How I Fall was an eye-opening book that people should read to learn about disabilities and the cruelty people show toward unknown subjects.

6 thoughts on “Review: How I Fall by Anne Elliot”

  1. Oh wow, this sounds really powerful! I agree, I am so glad that more books with characters with disabilities are showing up in mainstream YA. I don’t think I have read about a character with CP, I am definitely adding this to my TBR. It is also maddening to me that people treat you as though you are “less than” because you are blind. There isn’t even any logic to it! If anything, I feel like you have a very unique perspective to offer to teens and young adults, and anyone who turns you away is missing out on a HUGE opportunity. Not just for your insight, but because they miss out on meeting YOU! Lovely review, I will be sure to check this book out! Thanks for sharing it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think that if we can get more people writing about characters with physical disabilities (and mental ones, can’t hurt to have more exposure!) maybe they’ll become less of a taboo thing to talk about and maybe more people will stop being so cruel over things that we have no control of. I don’t know if you’ve encountered this, but I remember a book or a tv show I was watching where the person said, “See you later!” And then immediately apologized, because the person he was speaking to was blind. To someone in a wheelchair, people avoid talking about walking, running, etc. I have problems that fall into that invisible illness category, and I get comments all the time saying, “But you don’t look sick.” I dunno. I guess what I’m trying to say is maybe by getting these kinds of topics in fictional settings, people will learn that those with disabilities are not defined by them. They adapt to continue living instead of dwelling on things they’ve lost or things that aren’t really feasible any more (I wanted to go through the certification course to skydive solo, but my body wouldn’t be able to handle the jerk that happens to you as the parachute deploys and tugs up at your harness now). And while they may not be able to do all the things a fully abled person can, that does not mean they’re less of a person. I’m going to look this book up and see if I can get it from the library. Thanks for reviewing it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

