Review: Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder
Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars
I’m not sure reading this was the best choice coming right after My Life Next Door. I’d just gotten out of a slump when I read My Life Next Door and was hoping Poison Study would be a good read to keep things going. Sadly, it fell short of my expectations.
I don’t know if reading it right after a five star book affected my rating, but I just didn’t find the story too memorable. I thought that the characters could definitely have been developed more throughout the story instead of in the end. I know that fantasy books require world building and that’s great, but this book just didn’t do it for me. Don’t get me wrong, the world Snyder created is wonderful, but the pacing and description was lacking or too slow at times while at others it felt rushed and not described. I think that some of the decisions the characters took were unreasonable or not what people usually do in their situations. While I liked how the author incorporated a spy element into the book, she made some of the characters who were supposed to be cautious do some pretty stupid and shallow things. Likewise, she made characters make decisions that didn’t fit their personality or went against previous choices. Lastly, I thought that the book had some predictable turns and wished it would have taken things a different direction.
Overall, this book fell flat of my expectations, but I think it’s a good set-up to a series. I would recommend this to fans looking for a new fantasy series.

6 thoughts on “Review: Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder”

  1. I can understand why you would think that in some ways I agree with you because the first book wasn’t as good as the second or third in my opinion but I think it was at least a 4 star book but Im glad you read it I recommend it to most people

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I quite enjoyed the first book, but I absolutely hated the second, and couldn’t finish the third. So fyi if you were thinking of reading on – I wouldn’t recommend it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

