Review: Just One Day

Just One Day by Gayle Forman
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I’m embarrassed to say that this is my first Gayle Forman novel. After hearing so many good things about If I Stay I decided to pick this one up as it was what I had at the moment. However, I must admit I was a little disappointed when I finished the novel.

For one thing, I had a little bit of a hard time connecting with characters and empathizing with their dilemmas. I can understand how a day changes someone’s life, but I just don’t understand why the main character acted the way she did after that one day.

On the other hand, I thought the book had a great message. This book deals with the issue that I, and probably most people going into college struggle with: what will I study? Who am I? It explores the issues thoroughly and explains how taking the path that’s expected of you isn’t always the best, instead taking the path that makes you happy is what’s right. Along the same lines, the book explores the issue of leaving the little niche your parents have created for you and exploring things for yourself.

Overall, I thought Just One Day was a good book that teens going into college should explore. At the same time, it fell flat of my expectations and i had a bit of a hard time connecting with the characters.

4 thoughts on “Review: Just One Day”

  1. Ohh, great review! I am bummed that you didn’t connect to the characters, because that makes a book like this hard to enjoy. But the message DOES sound good. I think I STILL need that message in my life, since I wasted my college years just doing whatever other people wanted from me, and now I am just wasting my life doing the same thing. Clearly, I should read this book, stat!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This was also my first Gayle Forman book, but I loved it! I couldn’t wait for the second book and the final short story. I will probably read anything she writes based on how much I liked the first one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

