Review: The Undomestic Goddess by Sophie Kinsella

The Undomestic Goddess by Sophie Kinsella
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

After reading I’ve Got Your Number, my first Kinsella book, i had really high hopes for The Undomestic Goddess. Unfortunately, it did not live up to my expectations. The book as a whole wasn’t disappointing, but the ending did leave me wanting more.

I thought the book had a great plot and message: don’t do what’s expected/what will make you the most money if you’re not going to be happy. I think it’s a message that more books should focus on as teens today don’t seem to understand that and are too worried with grades. I’m not saying that grades are a bad thing because let’s face it, we all want that A. However, I’ve come to realize that they’re not all there is to life.

Much like Samantha, I’ve always been expected and told I should, and would, make a great lawyer. I’d always gone along with it because I didn’t really know what it was all about or what I wanted to do with my life, much less the plethora of available career paths. However, a few years I went to a law conference and decided that law is DEFINITELY not for me! I appreciate all of the work that’s involved if I choose law, but I simply can’t see myself doing it. I also understand that I have a way for finding loopholes and arguing a point, but I can’t and won’t take a job just because it makes good money. I especially can’t see myself in a job that I’m not happy in which as I mentioned before is the message of The Undomestic Goddess.

I absolutely loved this aspect of the book and I loved the way Kinsella emphasized the point with a well-developed cast of characters. Each and everyone of her characters, from the snooty lawyer to the rich housewife taught, and learned from Samantha. Every little relationship was developed and explained giving the book a complete feel. However, and this is a big however, I am disappointed with the ending.

I felt that the ending left so much open and unknown. Furthermore, the ending seemed rushed and under-developed to me. It wasn’t a bad ending, but after all of the development Kinsella did it was anticlimactic.

Side note: Could she have put the recipes somewhere? Were they there and I didn’t see them? Is there a separate recipe book? Please, if you have an answer, I MUST know!

Overall, I thought The Undomestic Goddess was a great book with a great message. However, the ending was anticlimactic and definitely fell short of the mark.

Leave a Reply

