Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
When I first read the summary for All The Bright Places, I was immediately intrigued. I’d been looking for a good book that discussed the struggle of living with depression or another mental illness. Even though the book was compared to The Fault In Our Stars, I was weary of an adult’s first young adult novel dealing with such tough subjects. However, as the book got more and more attention, and raving reviews by some of my friends, I became less weary and finally picked it up.

I’m so glad that I picked this book up because it was what I’d been looking for. I’m not saying the book was perfect, and it most certainly wasn’t imperfect, but it brought to light so many issues and handled them with the right amount of delicacy and seriousness. The only problem that I did have was probably just the normal first book in the genre/age group bump. Other than that, I really liked the book.

I’m not going to do a traditional review for this book as I don’t think I can adequately express my feelings for it. Instead, I want you all to share your thoughts with me about the book, the issues it brings up, and what you think of the diversity in the ya bookish community. Do you think books like All The Bright Places are enough or do we need even more?

Once again, what did you think of the book?

Jackie

6 thoughts on “Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven”

  1. I don’t know how I feel about it! I want to say that I loved it, because it was a GOOD book, but it broke my heart, so I don’t know if I CAN love it. I have so many emotions. I liked so much of it, and I am so MAD at some of it, but it was really amazing. You are right, it is hard to put into words!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think that this book is far from The Fault, but I certainly loved this one as well. I agree that it’s hard to describe this book, but I just loved how it showed the reality of depression.
    Kim @ Divergent Gryffindor: BLOG || VLOG

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

