{Discussion} 2 – Why I Buy Books

This may seem like a weird post title with an easy answer: I buy books because I love to read and support authors. However, if you’ve been following my blog for a while, you probably know I’m blind. If not, well now you know.
Recently, I’ve been getting various questions as to why I buy hardcopy print books. Honestly, I see where people are coming from with this question. Why would I buy print books when I can’t read them and could as easily buy the eBook? Actually, there are ways I can read print books as this post shows, but while I could buy the electronic copy I hold out hope that ONE DAY I’ll be able to see. I know, wishful thinking, right?
I’ve always been told that I’m a good writer, and recently, Shannon from It Starts At Midnight wrote a discussion/review of All The Bright Places about how mental illness is being incorporated more in YA books. I wrote a comment basically saying I agree, but also think people with mental/physical disabilities should also be written about. All in all, she said that she agreed and asked if I thought about becoming a writer. Honestly, I have but I didn’t think I was “good enough” to write.
I promise, I haven’t lost my marbles and I know the whole buying books/writing thing doesn’t make sense, but stick with me.
Anyway, on January 29, I attended the Sarah Dessen and Gayle Forman event at Flyleaf books. Unlike my Sara Raasch event (which I loved) the event consisted of a question and answer portion between the two authors and one between them and readers. While I was there, the two authors discussed their books as well as the reasons behind them and why they began to write. I can’t remember which author said this, but one of the authors said she wrote because it helped her sort through events she was currently experiencing. She said that even though her characters were teenagers she wrote about events in her life through them because they were great messengers and they had the power to reach so many people.
This got me thinking: “I should start writing.” Well, the idea of writing kept rolling around in my head for the remainder of the discussion, but it became cemented when the two authors began talking about the diverse characters in their books. Since I’d read some of Dessen’s novels I knew her characters brought new perspectives to the table. However, (and I know this is embarrassing) I had never read a Forman book. When the two started talking about the characters, I realized that I may not know what it’s like to have a friend commit suicide, have a brother in prison, or be abandoned by my parents, I DO know what it’s like to be “different.” This conviction and sense of gratitude I had for the authors and the type of issues and characters they write about made me further convinced that I should write.
While I had written short stories and essays for school, I’d never really considered it. Okay, that’s not true, I started a story or two with one of my best friends. i also started (and am considering picking back up) a story about domestic violence. Anyway, I kept toying with the idea of writing until I got up to the signing and actually meeting the two authors.
I know, I know. Jackie, what about the part about buying books? Well, the whole discussion combined with my desire to start writing reminded me of why I buy books. I buy books because they have changed my life completely. Without them, I’d probably be an emotional wreck and/or really really depressed. Books are the thing that has grounded me ever since I picked up my first Harry Potter. But, why don’t you buy the eBook? Good question, while it is much easier for me to read eBooks, I like buying hard copies of books I’m going to get signed or really liked. Again, I know the only way to read these is with the use of special technology or eBooks. however, I keep hoping that one day I’ll be able to hold a book under my hands, feeling the pages turn as my eyes take in the information and my nose inhales the scent. This goes back to the reason I started blogging, reading, and essentially what keeps me going each day. As I’m writing this I’m crying, but hope is truly what keeps me going along with the many friends I’ve made through books and blogging. Lastly, I buy books because I want my children to read and be able to say they have signed copies/original copies.
Anyway back to the signing. When I got up to the line, I thought of all the things I’d say when I got the chance to talk with them. In the end, I told them what I’ve written in this post: that I appreciate all of the characters they write because I don’t feel so alone. Again, I may not go through the exact issues as the characters, it’s nice to know other people are struggling–even if they are in a book. After that, I almost cried and when I took a picture, and hugged both authors, I think I cried a little. Authors, bloggers, friends, and books are why I wrote this post and why I buy books.
Thank you all so much for supporting me and my blog. I trulyy don’t know what I’d do, or where I’d be without you. I am so grateful I have such awesome friends and followers. Even if I only get one view in a week, I’m glad because I know that I helped someone choose a book and I feel like I’ve made a difference.
Once again, thank you all for supporting me and my blog.
Is their anything you want me to answer? Please ask me anything about me, books, or blogging. Also, use the hashtag #AskJackie and tweet me your questions at @Jackie_Girl02.

15 thoughts on “{Discussion} 2 – Why I Buy Books”

  1. I loved this post. Truly. It was great. I completely understand where the author was coming from in terms of why she writes. It truly does help one to sort out things that are happening in your life. And when you began to say that you were crying while writing this post, well, I understand that too. I often cry while writing as well. But, that shows that you are truly passionate about expressing yourself through written word.

    I do believe that one day you will be able to hold that book in your hand, smell the fresh printed pages, and take in the story with your eyes. I have faith that one day you will be able to see. In fact, I know that you already can. Because although at this time you might not be able to see people’s physical appearance, you can see something that is much more important. You can truly see their soul. That is very special. You are very special. I’m so blessed to call you my friend. I miss our late night chats about life. You are a beautiful girl inside and out. I’m so happy I met you, and can share a love of reading and writing with you. Please keep in touch!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Jackie for this post, it was beautiful! I didn’t realize until this post that you’re blind and I am grateful and humbled by your willingness to put it all out there and share what’s on your heart.

    If you want to write a novel then do it! I believe you can and I look forward to hearing more about your writing journey.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am glad you didn’t notice as I usually don’t like people noticing. thought it was obvious though because of how I asked people to describe the pictures they post thank you for the awesome and heartwarming comment

      Like

  3. Wow, I had no idea you were blind…I guess I never really looked at your About page, but I read your other blog post in addition to this one.

    Thanks for writing this, it was so honest and real and I know what you mean about how books keep you grounded otherwise you’d be an emotional wreck or depressed.

    This post is so sweet, I could cry. I love how you buy books not only because you want to be able to actually see, but for your future children to read as well. That’s so amazing.

    I definitely think you should write more even if you don’t think you’re super super great yet (a lot of people aren’t for years or ever, really).

    Thanks for sharing this on my Twitter or I would have missed it. I remember seeing it earlier and I was going to read it, but I ended up side-tracked. Of course, you wanted my opinion, so my opinion is that this is a meaningful, amazing, very surprising post. It was really eye-opening as well (no pun intended). Fantastic post Jackie.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I’m surprised that people haven’t noticed I’m blind. I guess it’s only obvious to me. don’t worry, you’re not the only one. Thanks for the encouragement and for your opinion. I’m glad it was eye-opening and again thank you for the lovely comment

      Liked by 1 person

  4. First things first: I must admit that I live 20 minutes from Flyleaf and never manage to make it to the author events there. I’m mad jealous that you got to go to the Sarah Dessen/Gayle Foreman event!
    Second: I’m so glad I found your blog and met you through the Love-A-Thon this weekend! I’m also glad that you’ve found such a community and sense of belonging in the book blogosphere.
    Third: I think you should definitely try writing. Even if you never try to publish your stories, it will be a great experience for you. I’ve never been good at writing fiction, but I enjoy writing non-fiction and it really makes me feel like I’m doing something positive for my brain and my soul when I write.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, this means so much. 🙂 I’m so glad I got to meet you through the LoveAThon as well. Oh, and next time I’m down there for a signing you must go or I’ll hunt you down. 🙂 No but really it would be nice to see other blogger friends at signings as there are no people in Va. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

  5. Aw, Jackie, now I am tearing up too! This is absolutely beautiful! What you said about your children… oh Jackie, such a wonderful and selfless thing to hope for. They’ll be so incredibly blessed to have you as a mom. And I want so much for you to be able to see your beloved books one day too. It absolutely can happen, and I will be cheering when it does.

    I think writing would be such a lovely outlet. Knowing what books have done for you, imagine the amazing impact you could have on the lives of others in similar situations! I think you are kind of the perfect person for the job, really. I really think that in these cases, the people who can do the story the most justice are those who can really express the emotion that goes with it, which you most certainly can. The “good enough” part will come. I don’t think anyone perfects writing the first, second, or 100th time, but they eventually find their voice, their purpose, that special “something” that makes their book worth reading. Honestly, you have that already! And I’ll be cheering when you are inspiring others, too 🙂

    Thank you for this incredible post, and I am truly humbled that I had a part in this discussion ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Shannon! This comment! Thank you so much! I can’t even express how this makes me feel. You almost made me tear up again and trust me, that’s hard. I’m so glad I have people like you cheering me on and hoping with me. I think that writing would be a perfect way to pass on my love and thank you for saying that. Thank you also for thinking I’ll be a good mom even when I don’t–and I’m still too young to think of this but still, it means a great deal. When I do publish my book–and now I’m convinced I will–you’ll be one of the first to know. 🙂 Thanks for taking the time to comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

