Review: The Jewel by Amy Ewing

The Jewel by Amy Ewing
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
Violet Lasting is a girl who lives in the Marsh, the poorest circle in the Lone City. She is a surrogate sold to the highest royal bidder to bare her child after which she enters the richest circle, the Jewel and has to maneuver her way through politics, love, and friendship.
When I first read this book, I read it in a day and absolutely loved it! I still love this book because like You Are Mine this book deals with the issue of buying and selling women. However, this book also introduces the theme of surrogacy.
Amy Ewing cleverly introduces the topic of buying and selling girls to be used as surrogates. Along with that, she introduces an extra layer by having the girls bought by royal women.
I loved all of the plot twists in the book! I especially enjoyed the cliff-hanger at the end.
However, I felt that the romance between Violet and Ash was just too instantaneous for my liking. I didn’t mind the romance itself, but I thought it was forced at times and it could have been written better. I also thought the romance made Violet less independent in a way which contradicted her character throughout the book.
Overall, The Jewel brought new concepts to the table and I highly recommend it.

5 thoughts on “Review: The Jewel by Amy Ewing”

  1. Yep, this is basically exactly how I felt! I even felt it was a bit Hunger Games-y in the beginning, but I could NOT put it down! So, I had to rate it high, despite my dislike for Ash, and hoping that someone “new” comes into play 😉

    Like

    1. Oh my goodness! I HOPE we’re talking about the same person. I think Ash could have been a good “character if he had more development. I hope we can see more of Violet’s relationship with her family. What do you think of the novella scheduled for July from Raven’s point of view?

      Like

Leave a Reply

