Review: Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

Daughter of Smoke & Bone
by Laini Taylor
Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars
I found some of the shifts in point of view, especially at the beginning, quite confusing. Apart from that, I really didn’t have too many other problems with it. However, I did have a hard time deciphering whether Akiva, Karou, and later Madrigal was telling the story.
Characters:

  • Karou:
    I thought she was an okay character and expect her to grow much more as the series continues. I like how she’s very self-sufficient, and although I don’t like it, how well she can juggle her friendships.

  • Akiva:
    Honestly, it was nice seeing the guy as the tormented character for a change, but I think he was too tormented if that makes sense.

  • Brimstone:
    I really love this character. Even before it’s revealed that he has a soft spot for Karou, the reader can see that. Apart from that, he is such an awesome and genuine character you can’t help but fall in love with.

  • Issa:
    I loved reading about her relationship with Karou and how she was a mother to Karou. I really enjoyed reading about her and wish every book had an Issa.

Overall:
I liked the book apart from what I mentioned above and will continue reading to find out what happens and see how all of the characters grow.
Jackie

Leave a Reply

