Review: City of Heavenly Fire

This Review Has spoilers. To see it without spoilers see my review on Goodreads
Here.
City of Heavenly Fire
City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

My actual rating of this book is a 4.5 out of 5 stars.
That said, no book or series for that matter has a perfect ending, however, Cassandra Clare came pretty damn close.
Honestly, this book could have ended the Shadowhunter world and I would have been fine with it. I mean I would have had many questions, but that happens with any book.
This book more than any other in the series or in general, has made me realize that no matter how small, every detail matters. I really loved how Cassandra Clare tied up all of the loose ends in the story. Those she didn’t tie up, I’m sure she left them for a purpose.
Not many books make me cry, but this was one of them. There were just so many action packed moments followed by very philosophical and emotional moments. I mean, was I the only one who cried when Raphael and Sebastian died? Oh, and let’s not even get started on Simon. When he offered himself up so that they could all leave Edom, I started crying. However, I think the most heart-wrenching moment of the whole ordeal was seeing his reaction at not remembering them all and slowly gaining his memories back.
I think the fact that so many people died in this book makes it even more real and relatable to me. I know for a fact that I would have hated the book if it had ended with Jonothan still alive, The Fair Folk getting along with everyone, and all of the couples living happily ever after. I’m so glad that the series ended with so much character development from everyone and the subtle ever-present threat of retaliation in the background. To me, this ending fits perfectly with my image of Cassandra Clare’s writing style.
I can’t wait for [bc:Lady Midnight|13541054|Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices, #1)|Cassandra Clare|https://s.gr-assets.com/assets/nophoto/book/50×75-4845f44723bc5d3a9ac322f99b110b1d.png|19104294] to come out!
What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

